10 Questions for May

I let this blog hop go down to the wire…just two more days of May, which seems insane! Thanks to The Horse is Not Black for the questions.

1. What are your summer goals?

Having Copper sound and riding again post lyme disease treatment is number one. I’d love to take a couple lessons on him this year or put him in training with someone dressage focused, but we’re thinking about soundness first, then we’ll see what will follow.

Weaning Joey and teaching him more things-so much to learn for the lil guy yet.

Building fence/possibly having a new well dug on the farm, etc. Farm goals never end…

20170528_191211

Joey’s goal is to shed more. Soon. Hurry Joey!

2. Do you have any tips or tricks for fly control?

Not really, I use fly spray before a ride or if the horse looks particularly miserable. Here lately it hasn’t stopped raining for more than 48 hours, so they haven’t been as miserable as typical due to the rain. I do put fly masks on them as well (you know, when it isn’t threatening to rain before I can get back out to remove them…) and even bought Joey a little one. I’m considering buying Copper a fly sheet, but I’m cheap and haven’t found a deal I want yet.

20170530_100801

Halp! I’ve been blinded.

3. How often do you bathe your horse?

Like with soap!? hahaha. Copper did get a bath last year I think, and I meant to bathe Paige, but I didn’t. I’ve not bathed Paige since I’ve had her (2014) and Copper hasn’t had one in likely as long. Lets not talk about Robin… I hose them down without scrubbing often though.

4. Do you have any upcoming travel plans? Equine or otherwise?

Nothing firm. We’ve tossed around a couple of trips, but haven’t settled on anything yet. I’d love to go to the beach this year, and the blogger Congress trip would be fun if I could coerce someone to ride with me. I get sleepy during long rides solo. :/ NC (or more southern) bloggers, if you wanna do Congress, I’m on the way, hit me up and we’ll talk. 😉

5. What is your favorite way to beat the heat?

Shade shade shade. When I’m riding (not so far this year), my riding area is shaded pretty well from 630PM-sunset. I generally only ride late in the evening to avoid the heat. Staying hydrated is key, plus sunglasses. Nothing worse than being hot and having a headache from too much sun in the eyes. I’m also less likely to ride with a saddle when its super hot since it adds to the heat for the horse plus I’m lazy and how hard are we really going to be working if it is super hot? Bareback toodling for the win…

20170522_204554

This is a good time to ride. These trees help shade my riding area in the field.

6. Do you do anything to prevent your horse from sunbleaching?

This is literally the least of my concerns. My guys live outside 24/7. I can’t imagine how life would be if I cared if their hair was sunbleached. 😉

20170528_144639

Joey thinks he’s a halter baby…

7. How hot is too hot for you to ride?

We’re in the mountains, so it gets somewhat humid. If I ride and it is above 85 degrees, that’s a miracle odd. We aren’t pushing for anything competitive and are pretty laid back. It is rare that it is over 85 degrees in the evening though.

8. How important is sun protection for you riding or just in general?

I’m really bad at sun protection. :/ Maybe I should try harder…

9. Have you ever gone swimming with your horse?

I’ve been in the river on Paige…and she wanted to take me swimming…Paige is not to be trusted in the river…

20170525_175229

Don’t trust her…she’ll try to roll in the river…

10. And because shopping is always on my mind, what’s on your summer wish list?

I’ve been eyeballing the Eponia Ginger dressage bridle and thinking about how nice it would look with my County, but until Copper is sound and performing under saddle in a way that gives me the warm fuzzies, that is tabled for later. (I fully blame the bloggers who went to Rolex for this one…I hadn’t seen them until people started mentioning them in recap posts from Rolex shopping…)

A fly sheet for Copper would be nice and maybe one of those giant balls for Joey to play with in the field?

LOTS of wine and margaritas if Lyme isn’t the sole reason for the NQR. Though that seems obvious…

20170530_100859

Almost half way through the Lyme meds!

 

3 thoughts on “10 Questions for May

Leave a Reply

