Product Review-Troxel Low Profile Dakota All Trails Helmet

I’ve been putting this post off because selfies. Ugh. I took selfies more when I was young, basically in my first two years of college. I’ve not been a fan of taking selfies as much since then though. Regardless, I want to post a review of my new helmet.

As you may have read, I used to wear a helmet when I was younger because of Robin’s complete disregard for human safety athleticism. She was a baby and her baby mentality told her to rear when she felt rushed, which was basically all the time. Fun, right? So I started wearing a helmet. I have pictures of me in my helmet on Robin, but they aren’t digital, and the quality is meh at best, so here, have me and Logan back in the day with my super patriotic helmet. It matched his bridle accents. Obviously my shirt coordinated poorly.

A Soft Spot for Stars-Product Review-Troxel Low Profile Dakota All Trails Helmet

Saint Logan back in the day.

I bought the Troxel Low Profile Dakota All Trails helmet in Trail Dust. I didn’t buy mine from Riding Warehouse because I had a coupon for Horse.com at the time. If I hadn’t had the coupon I would’ve bought from Riding Warehouse because of their free returns policy. As it turns out, I thought I’d have to return the helmet when I first tried it on because it felt too tight. I grumbled some because I really liked the helmet, but why was it so tight?

A Soft Spot for Stars-Product Review-Troxel Low Profile Dakota All Trails Helmet

After looking at the process for returns with Horse.com (calling a 1-800 number ranks super low on my list of things I find fun), I googled helmet sizing. I found an article (which I obviously imagined because now the one I read is impossible to find) and decided to try the helmet on again based on what I read. My initial annoyance with the Dakota was that there was a “button” or protrusion of some sort near my temple that annoyed me when I first put the helmet on. I was immediately disheartened and decided to return the helmet based on that. The article I read recommended wearing the helmet for 10 minutes to see if it would give you a headache. So that evening my husband got to laugh at me because I wore the helmet around for a while. Believe it or not, after wearing the helmet for a few minutes, I didn’t notice the protrusion on the side. I did the other things the article suggested. Apparently you’re supposed to be able to unlatch the strap of the helmet and bend over and the helmet not fall off. I felt an air gap between the very top of my head and the helmet when I bent over, but alas, it stayed in place.

When we took Paige trail riding last month, I wore the helmet in the truck on the way to the trail to see how it felt before committing to it for a couple hours of riding in it or carrying it if it ended up hurting me. My worries were a waste of time as the helmet has felt fine ever since. I expected to be annoyed at wearing it at the very least, but it honestly hasn’t bothered me at all. I like that the visor on the front of it is bigger than on other helmets since it helps to shield my eyes from the sun. An added bonus of wearing a helmet when trail riding- branches don’t grab your hair!

A Soft Spot for Stars-Product Review-Troxel Low Profile Dakota All Trails Helmet

I took selfies in the helmet on the bridge. Paige’s unicorn horn is pretty obvious in this picture. 

I love the matte finish on the helmet and the design on the side. It has personality without being obnoxious. Both of the friends that I was trail riding with liked the design and finish as well. I feel like the price point ($55) for this helmet is great. I didn’t want to spend a lot of money on a helmet. If I pursue western dressage next year I can still wear this helmet, but if I have hunt seat pursuits, I’ll probably just buy a velvet cover for it.

A Soft Spot for Stars-Product Review-Troxel Low Profile Dakota All Trails Helmet

You can get an idea of the matte finish from this picture.

So the beauty of the helmet is that now I have a way to be more safe when doing crazy things like match racing. I wore it out when Paige and I went to check the burn pile and once again, I didn’t notice it when I was riding.

A Soft Spot for Stars-Product Review-Troxel Low Profile Dakota All Trails Helmet

So, in summary, if you’re looking for a comfortable helmet without spending a ton of dollars, the Troxel Low Profile Dakota may be for you!

3 thoughts on “Product Review-Troxel Low Profile Dakota All Trails Helmet

Leave a Reply

