TBT Baby Horses Are Distracting

I’m in a better place mentally now about Paige not being bred. A baby would pull my focus from my current horses in a big way. I tend to get wrapped up in babies to the point that I forget my other horses, which may be beneficial when Copper is looking towards retirement, but that’s not where we are on the timeline currently. *glares at all the ponies* You know since I said that we aren’t retiring, I’ll have three spontaneously lame ponies when I see them next.

Example: Robin. When I bought Copper, I basically stopped all development on Robin. Yeah, I had Lil Man at the time as well. So technically Lil Man stopped my progress with Robin more so than Copper, but when I sold Lil Man, I never entertained the idea of backtracking to Robin, my focus was on Copper.

A Soft Spot for Stars-TBT Baby Horses Are Distracting

Lil Man, Copper, and Jolly (the goat)

A Soft Spot for Stars-TBT Baby Horses Are Distracting

Copper was already bigger than Robin at two vs. her seven years.

Robin is probably the most affectionate horse I’ve ever met. She eagerly greets people who walk through her field and will follow you around (sometimes to the point of being a nuisance). She hasn’t been ridden consistently since she was four years old, and she’s 13 now. She has the easiest trot ever to sit, but she lacks development on a head set, spooks regularly, and loses her mind when any bug larger than a house fly swarms anywhere near her.

She has a pretty low opinion of tack, thinking of it as a necessary evil at best. Probably because most of her rides in the last 5 years have been like this:

A Soft Spot for Stars-TBT Baby Horses Are Distracting

I do think that Robin is fine with how her life has played out. She’s got a home with me forever. She’s an easy keeper, stands well for the vet and farrier and has good ground manners. I could do a lot worse. Copper loves her. She’s his surrogate mother.

A Soft Spot for Stars-TBT Baby Horses Are Distracting

Copper and Robin in 2011

If I decide to torture G, I may put her in training at some point, if just to get her loping more consistently, but as it has been for the last 7 years, the focus is elsewhere. Sorry Robin, have some grass.

A Soft Spot for Stars-TBT Baby Horses Are Distracting

Leave a Reply

