Paige Progress-More Riding Outside, But With Pictures

I haven’t posted as regularly lately because I haven’t had a whole lot of bloggable stuff going on really. Last week was pretty busy work wise, then the weekend was more busy because of Mother’s Day and my having to work the only Saturday of the year that I work. Last week was also the one year anniversary of my father passing away, so emotions. I’ve been doing a lot more napping than horse-things.

A Soft Spot for Stars-Paige Progress-More Riding Outside, But With Pictures

Here, have a picture of a cute bird that was sitting on my banister.

Yesterday was my birthday though, so I bailed out of work early and went to the barn. Jason was off yesterday, so I thought we could be productive for a while. As mentioned here, I want to take down the center wall in the barn to enlarge the riding area. We started working on that yesterday, and I was silly and didn’t take pictures of the mess that we made. Rest easy, pictures of mass destruction will be saved for another post. I think I’m going to spend the evening removing nails from boards, which was the activity that I did on my birthday yesterday. This girl knows how to party-removing nails from wood without gloves. I don’t think I acquired any splinters, and my hammer skills were getting pretty impressive after two hours of nail pulling.

After doing that for a while, I caught Paige and brought her in to be tacked up. I convinced Jason that he should take pictures of me riding since that so seldom happens. Of course, we left without my camera, so the pictures are cell phone quality. Jason has this app that takes high speed pictures, I think he said 4 shots per second or something crazy like that? I encourage you to never look at pictures of yourself riding that are taken that frequently. Either it is amaze-balls and everything looks awesome for a bazillion pictures, or that one moment when you and your mare weren’t agreeing looks overly exaggerated like it lasted forever and was vicious.

A Soft Spot for Stars-Paige Progress-More Riding Outside, But With Pictures

A Soft Spot for Stars-Paige Progress-More Riding Outside, But With Pictures

Copper watching us warm up in the background.

Paige was slightly more willing to work in frame than she was last week, so that was nice, but we still had moments of her not wanting to go in frame. Those were mainly downhill, so I’m not super worried about it.

A Soft Spot for Stars-Paige Progress-More Riding Outside, But With Pictures

La-di-da…just jogging along.

A Soft Spot for Stars-Paige Progress-More Riding Outside, But With Pictures

Paige being dressage pony.

Apparently Paige would like a career as a western dressage horse, because for a while there, she was quite fancy.
A Soft Spot for Stars-Paige Progress-More Riding Outside, But With Pictures Then she realized that she was allowed to jog on a loose rein if she stayed in frame, and went back to western pleasure Paige. A Soft Spot for Stars-Paige Progress-More Riding Outside, But With Pictures A Soft Spot for Stars-Paige Progress-More Riding Outside, But With Pictures There were very few lope pictures. I’m not sure if Jason gets nervous when I lope or what, but he only took pictures of me loping when he was way downhill from me. He did make me a one stride gif. He said that the app wouldn’t let him do anymore than that for some reason? Who knows. But on the cantering front, we have made progress. When I rode last week she acted like she’d die if she cantered downhill at all, but yesterday we cantered circles, downhill included. I’m not sure if it was that I was more confident loping her outside or she was more willing, but we loped a fair bit yesterday. I have decided that I’ll probably only ride after 6:30 in the evenings through the summer. It’s just way too hot for both of us any earlier.

A Soft Spot for Stars-Paige Progress-More Riding Outside, But With Pictures

6 thoughts on “Paige Progress-More Riding Outside, But With Pictures

    • hahaha I posted a video on instagram last week of what you describe. My gelding was running the fence line because my mare is in heat and he’s a huge tease. The donkeys run too then, of course. 😉

Leave a Reply

