Riding Double Without Knowing It…

A friend really wanted me to write a product review of Copper’s new grain today, but from his perspective. A kind of visiting writer type of post. That vision was a very interesting direction to take, but I’m not sure Copper took a breath when he was eating last night, so his thoughts on the matter would’ve been chewing noises punctuated with donkey herding. How dare those long eared monsters try to take his food! Every few bites he has to chase one away from his ground pan. Anyway, I switched Copper from an oat/corn mixture that was dry to a sweet feed with a higher fat and protein content. It’s also sticky and will make it harder for him to avoid the powdered weight building supplement that he likes to leave behind for the donkeys…who don’t need any extra fat in their diets.

A Soft Spot for Stars-Riding Double Without Knowing It

They would never try to steal food…

Anyway, I decided today was a good day for a ride recap. I’ve been trying to ride Copper 2/3 times a week while he’s gaining weight to maintain his brain throughout the process. So far I’ve been consistent with this. Mainly the focus is to pay attention to me, which is easier when the giant doors at the end of the barn are closed instead of open, but it was so warm yesterday that the prospect of riding with the doors closed wasn’t fun. I didn’t put the donkeys in a stall either, so they wandered through our riding area occasionally, but more annoying was when they stood just on the outside of the barn enough that Copper would hear them and jump every now and then because who knows who was behind the door? It could’ve been a Copper-eating-monster or the vet! Surely not a donkey that lives in the field…

A Soft Spot for Stars-Riding Double Without Knowing It

Donkey crossing…

Sometimes I ask Copper questions during our rides…but not with my voice. Yesterday I asked him if he thought we could do western dressage. I asked him this by staying in contact with his mouth for a fair amount of our ride to see if it bothered him to be ridden with contact after being used to riding on a loose rein. He didn’t care, but he certainly carried himself differently. I wish I had someone there to video yesterday so I could see if it was a good different.

After riding for about 45 minutes I got off of him. He’d been good, a little looky with the doors open, but focused on me regardless. He was being cute looking out the door, so I was walking around taking pictures of him being interested in life. Pricked ears make for prettier blog pictures of course.

Well, imagine my surprise when I realized that not only was I not alone with Copper in the barn, but someone else was even riding with me! On the same horse! What?

A Soft Spot for Stars-Riding Double Without Knowing It

As usual, Copper is sporting a mohawk.

A Soft Spot for Stars-Riding Double Without Knowing It

If I’m going to have a passenger, at least it is cute.

Apparently I have a tiny horse trainer helping out from behind me. Let’s not talk about how surprised I would’ve been if it had joined me in the saddle while I was still riding. I’m not really afraid of mice, but it definitely would’ve startled me.

A Soft Spot for Stars-Riding Double Without Knowing ItIf you had any doubts that my horse is super comfortable and not very bouncy, this should alleviate them. I took a ton of pictures of this cuteness. He wouldn’t get off of my saddle while it was on Copper. He skittered around onto the the skirt once and almost fell, so he went back to hiding behind the cantle. Finally when I put my saddle on the stand he jumped off and ran away.

A Soft Spot for Stars-Riding Double Without Knowing ItThis has been a good reminder that I need to clean tack. I guess I’ll do that this weekend since I don’t have any big plans.

4 thoughts on “Riding Double Without Knowing It…

  1. The mouse experience is absolutely hilarious! I doubt many people in this world can say that rode double on a horse–with a mouse! ^_^ A very cute mouse at that (not that I’m encouraging further rides and/or lessons with mousy trainer)! Though I will admit the thought has crossed my mind that it would be funny if your riding Copper had a Ratatouille-esque situation where you only thought you were riding/training him while really the mousy trainer was the brain behind the outfit! I think we have a plot for a children’s book or film, no? 😉 Don’t sue me for that statement, Pixar!

Leave a Reply

