Variety is the Spice of Life

And occasionally it has the potential to be too spicy. Or that was my conclusion last night after I made a couple of questionable decisions. I couldn’t decide whether or not I wanted to ride last night, then when I saw Copper, he was covered in mud. Ughs. I wasn’t in the mood to groom, so I looked at my mares. Paige=muddy. Robin=just dusty. So I caught Robin and brought her in.

A Soft Spot for Stars-Variety is the Spice of Life

Cute, but not cooperative.

Those of you who know Robin know that she’s a weirdo. She’s stupid about normal everyday things like tying, bugs and tack. Yes, horsey life is hard for Robin. Of course, she is also the least likely to ground tie of my three, so just imagine saddling a moving target and you’ve got a pretty good idea of how much fun life was last night. Of course, she hasn’t been in my Billy Cook, so I thought it would be fun to see how cute she looks in it, because if nothing else, Robin is cute. She gave me her grouchiest mare faces when I tightened the girth. You mean you aren’t just going to set it on me? Redheaded mare was not amused.

I lunged her in the center of the barn to be sure the saddle wasn’t pushing her buttons to the point of being stupid, and she trotted around like a veteran so I figured she would behave despite the irritated faces. I’d already catered to one of her quirks, being herd bound, by putting Copper in a stall in the barn. I used the mounting block despite that she’s so short I can mount from the ground easily. Robin is so fat already, so the saddle would’ve probably went under her belly if I’d used the stirrup to mount. When I got on her I laughed. You can put a saddle on a bowling ball, but it still feels like a bowling ball. Or an exercise ball. Yes! An exercise ball that pins it’s ear and flips it’s nose in the air on the regular. That is Robin.

A Soft Spot for Stars-Variety is the Spice of Life

Standing still while another horse is in sight=Robin’s happy place.

Anyway. I let her walk a little bit after I got on. For some reason I want to make her collect and look like she knows what she’s doing, but she disagrees. Strongly. She’ll collect for a stride and a half then it is nose in the air time again. She doesn’t believe in just trotting along with her nose out like normal uncollected horses, she must have her face in the complete opposite position that I’ve asked for. When I asked her to trot, she actually turned her head and looked at me. Do you think I can trot with this saddle on? I said yes, but she insisted no. I was wearing my new Muck boots so I was struggling to feel her so I wondered if I wasn’t kicking her as hard as I thought, so I kicked her harder. Pinned ears. Grouchy mare face. Really? I thought about whapping her with the leather poppers on the reins, but I was at the barn alone. I truly don’t have a death wish, despite the path that this post is going.

A Soft Spot for Stars-Variety is the Spice of Life

Not the look of a death wish, I promise.

She started powerwalking when I would thud her with my legs so I thought of that as an improvement, though it wasn’t exactly what I wanted. Then low and behold, I decided to lean back and stretch my legs forward and she started to trot. Now we’re going places, just with the exact opposite signals that Copper uses. If I were to throw my legs forward on Copper, the brakes would’ve been hit hard. Ahhh reining training on the pleasure horse. Tis nice. So I stopped Robin since it had been her idea to trot and not mine. Then I walked her off again, leaned back and gave her her head and she trotted. I guess kicking is no longer her trot cue? Who knows. I think she decided to be difficult when she saw me walking towards her with an actual saddle. We trotted for a little while, did some circles, stopping, backing, etc. then I got off and decided that I’d tempt fate again another day.

A Soft Spot for Stars-Variety is the Spice of Life

“Look, I can be a low headed western pleasure pony too!” No one believes you, Robin.

Of course now I was comparing Robin to Copper, thinking about how much more fun it is to ride him. Now I wanted to ride Copper. But mud. So I lead Robin over to where I keep the saddle and draped the reins over a board. I didn’t tie her, because Robin. So naturally when she noticed that my body was not attached to the reins and that there was the slightest bit of tension when she moved her head back, she must be tied. So the obvious next response is to throw yourself into reverse and back halfway across the barn, cause ohmygosh scary. *rolls eyes* Of course I was watching her closely, because after almost 13 years with the noodle, I can kind of read her. The reins never even hit the ground. As soon as I saw the deranged crazy mare face I grabbed the reins and walked backwards with her. Oh mare. So special. She was raised by Saddlebreds. Or that is the excuse I give her.

So I texted my husband asking if he was hungry or if I had time to ride Copper too. At this point it was 7ish? My grandparents came by so that my Papaw could look at the tires on the horse trailer and verify that they are road worthy (unlike my dry rotted spare). So I spent a little time talking with them down at the hay barn before moving up to feed Copper. At that point I wasn’t riding tonight, let alone two of my ponies.

Of course getting Copper ready took half the time of getting Robin ready because he actually ties. Fancy pony he is. So I get on him, he feels much less like an exercise ball, and we walk one lap before BAM. Cue the pitty explosion. Lylah (my brother’s pit bull) ran into the barn, being her typical enthusiastic self and Copper jumped a little. Not bad. If I’d still been on Robin I would’ve probably eaten dirt, if for no other reason than fat mare in saddle+sideways jumping.

So after trying to ignore her for a little while, we decided to play chase the pitty. Which was fun until Copper’s dog chasing antics kicked in (minorly…he pinned his ears and shook his head at her). I decided we should ignore her again before someone decided to be tempted to strike at the pup.

A Soft Spot for Stars-Variety is the Spice of Life

So we went back to jogging and setting out head and trying to ignore the dog underfoot barking at us until Paige came in the run in side of the barn and scared her off. Peace was restored! So we worked on normal stuff for a while, but not with much enthusiasm since I was still in Muck boots, and without spurs. I told Jason I was gonna write a song called “You Can’t Put Spurs on Muck Boots” and he rolled his eyes at me. Of course I sang the title in a hick type voice because I was trying to get a laugh out of him.

Other than chasing Lylah, my ride on Copper was uneventful, which is exactly how I prefer my rides on Copper. 😉

4 thoughts on “Variety is the Spice of Life

    • It is true! Logan was the old schoolmaster ASB, but my brother had a horse named Kimmy that spooked at her own shadow. Robin spent the first 7 years of her life with her and I think her brain works differently because of it. 😉

Leave a Reply

