Bump Bump get-in-the-corner Dewormer

Okay, so admittedly, our indoor rides aren’t particularly exciting. We can’t lope and the space is crunched so that we either work on circles or some other type of bending a lot because we’re constantly running out of room. The advantage to this is that Copper is getting really soft with his steering. G told me when I was taking lessons with him on Copper that I should be constantly changing direction and stopping and backing, because that makes a broke horse. He never wanted me to get in the rut of just following the rail. I think he would’ve been pleased with my ride last night because we rarely were on the wall.

Something that A (NOT the A mentioned that started Copper under saddle) noticed when she was in on Saturday was that Copper wanted to lean against her right leg and not move away from it, which isn’t a huge shocker because that is the leg that he hates to sidepass away from. He wasn’t thrilled when she pushed the issue, but he didn’t do anything ignorant either. I realize that I’m very likely the cause of that since I probably don’t notice when he cuts out the corners unless he sincerely cuts them out. So we worked on that a lot yesterday.

The “new” thing that we’ve been doing since A visited is instead of asking for his head by bumping with each of my hands in a see-saw manner, I’m now asking for it by lifting both hands and bumping as one to prepare him for how the curb works. As long as he’s paying attention, he does very well at this for only having been ridden this way twice. If one of the mares runs into the other end of the barn and his head pops up I have to go back to see-saw bumping to get his attention. I have a feeling that if he had actually been wearing a curb yesterday, the single bump method would’ve gotten his attention despite the distractions.

As you can see, my noble steed was very wild last night.

So we worked on that for about twenty minutes last night. We are doing short rides currently since he needs to build up his weight. These rides aren’t physically exerting, it is much more for his mental stimulation. I was a little worried that he would be full of himself though, because when I dropped his halter to bridle him he turned and jogged off before I could bridle him. He’s never done that! Luckily I already had the doors shut so the extent of his escape was to the riding area. So he got to free lunge a little until he was ready to be caught. Goober. He just jogged around the barn halfheartedly to get away from me. I talk to my horses when I’m at the barn alone, and I told him that if he behaved for the rest of the evening, I would forgive him for being a runaway goober. Not that I was going to punish him after the fact, he would’ve long forgotten what he was being punished for. As you can imagine I will watch him more closely when I bridle him next. Sneaky pony.

A Soft Spot for Stars-

I can’t stress to you how wild he is.

After riding, it was deworming time for everyone. I did Copper first so I could turn him loose. I then dewormed Robin, Kricket and Paige. Robin was in the barn when I dewormed her, but I had to go out in the field to hunt the other two mares. Robin followed me, and since there was still a little dewormer on the tip of Paige’s tube leftover, I poked Robin in the lip with it. The piglet must’ve liked the dewormer, because she grabbed the tube with her teeth!

MOAR. GIVE ME MOAR.

After wrestling the tube away from the Hippo, I dewormed the donkeys and turned them out. Emma was so sassy! Obviously her opinion of the chosen dewormer did not rank as high as Robin’s. She immediately started to scratch her muzzle on her legs, the hay on the ground, the water trough, then she went wild donkey. She ran around for a long time before finally being sane again.

ALSO, has anyone ever ridden with their Galaxy S5 in their pocket and it tracked their horse’s steps? Cause either I did a lot of walking that I don’t recall, or it counted Copper’s steps when I was riding…hahahaha. Samsung Fitness is very proud of me now.

Leave a Reply

