Goals, I Haz Goals?

I’m not particularly good with establishing goals and sticking to them. I’m a take-it-as-it-comes type of person. In my last post I briefly touched on how I’m trying to prioritize my time/money for horse things this year. As I mentioned, my priorities are healthy horses—->barn improvement/breeding Paige—>showing Copper. I’d like to elaborate on this statement to clarify my goals for myself, and possibly for your entertainment if you follow along and watch things (inevitably) not go as planned.


Healthy Horses

Okay, so this one seems pretty obvious. Copper needs to gain weight, which we should be on the path towards accomplishing. He is getting grained twice and day with free choice hay, as he has been all winter. Now that his teeth have been fixed up, he’s also getting a fat supplement and the spring grass should start to pop out soon. So hopefully that will be resolved soon. The vet is coming on Saturday to vaccinate all the things and look Paige over. Apparently someone kicked her in the head and the swelling isn’t going down on its own. Hopefully it won’t be anything serious.

A Soft Spot for Stars-Goals

Copper needs to look like this again.

535968_10150696849519065_1038125135_n

So much handsome…


Barn Improvement

I’m just going to make a bulleted list of all the things, because I can.

  • Footing/enlarge indoor
  • Run ins!
  • Concrete areas (tack room, cross tie area, wash stall)
  • Gutters on the main barn
  • Separate tack/feed area in lower hay barn
  • Ties in lower hay barn
  • General barn maintenance (fixing a leak here or there, etc.)

    A Soft Spot for Stars-Goals

    The tack room needs a face lift…it is actually better than this now, but I haven’t taken any pictures of it lately.


Breed Paige

I have a contract for a stud fee to QTsGold Mastercard that expires this year, so if I don’t use it, it disappears. I’ve always liked this stud, so when I saw that there was an auction for his stud fee back in the fall of 2012, I bought it. I tried to breed Robin to him in the spring of 2013, but she didn’t take on the first shipment, and I was strapped for funds for that endeavor with the house restoration in full swing, so I didn’t pursue it further that year. Which, in hindsight was a blessing, because with Dad being sick in the spring of 2014, I had no time to watch a pregnant mare. Obviously I didn’t try to breed her in the spring of 2014 for the same reason that I was glad she didn’t get pregnant in 2013. But this year, things are much different. I think he’ll cross better on Paige than Robin since Paige is more of the reining type. We aren’t sure what type Robin is…unless being afraid of all the things and having a soft trot is a discipline now. Anywho…hopefully Paige will catch so that next April/May we can have a baby! It has been a long time since there’s been anything young on the place, and we’ve never had anything younger than 8 months, so this should be an adventure.

A Soft Spot for Stars-Goals

The morning of one of Robin’s OB appointments back in 2013.


Showing

As eager as I am to show my fancy horse this summer and enjoy how much he has improved, I’m not optimistic that we’ll do a lot of showing. Maybe one or two open shows in the fall once it isn’t insanely hot out. Lately we look more like western pleasure competitors, but we’ve yet to do the whole draped rein/curb bit thing. We very briefly played with a curb this weekend while a friend of mine was in. I’ve never had something go in a curb (minus Logan), so I’m taking all the help I can get with getting Copper going in one. I could show locally in a snaffle without consequence, but we’d be much more competitive if we were in a curb on a draped rein.

A Soft Spot for Stars-Goals

Showing in September 2014 with contact and in a snaffle bit.

The other possible hindrance to showing this year was that I want to have the trailer looked over and inspected thoroughly, not just enough to pass the VA inspection. The spare tire is definitely not road worthy, so I want to have all the others looked at closely and replaced as needed before hauling. Paige may need to be hauled to the vet’s to be inseminated, so we might cross that bridge sooner than we think.


I will post updates on how things are going as they develop…or don’t develop. 😉

ALSO, if you like contests, DIY Horse Ownership is doing a contest for a wood burned sign this week! Use the hyperlink to enter. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Goals, I Haz Goals?

    • Right?! I drool over his babies on FB when they post them and I want my own! haha. Dream baby would be a grulla…but I have yet to see one of his babies in any color that I don’t like. 😉

  1. I find that I’m much more likely to accomplish goals that I write out. Hopefully that’s the case for you too!

  2. Thanks for the share. I look forward to the foal. Since I don’t want to do the work myself, I love living vicariously through bloggers who have foals.

Leave a Reply

